ProMX hits Maitland this weekend

2022 Penrite ProMX Championship
Round Five – Maitland, NSW

Maitland kicks off the second half of the Championship, a huge number of competitors, teams, support crew and race fans alike will flock to the Lower Hunter Valley to be a part of the ProMX action.

Thor MX1

The THOR MX1 class recently had yet another potential momentum swing in the Championship, with the CDR Yamaha Monster Energy rider of Aaron Tanti coming into his own at the previous Round at Gillman in SA.

Tanti finally put it all together, matching his blistering sprint speed with endurance and consistency to weather challenges from all of the Championship contenders in THOR MX1, taking the second Moto victory at Gilmanthe overall win for the Round and opening up a 12 point lead at the top of the THOR MX1 class standings with the Red Plate.

Aaron Tanti took the red plate away from Gillman – Image RbMotoLens

One thing is for sure, Tanti will feel at home in the familiar confines of the Maitland track and if there is any round he is able to capitalise on momentum and set the narrative for the rest of the Championship, it will be right here at Maitland ! Watch for Tanti from the start of the day when Tanti throws down his patented sprint laps in the AMX Superstores Top 10 Pole Shootout.

It is the 2019 Champion of Todd Waters on the Husqvarna Racing Australia machine that has proven consistency is key, sitting in 2nd place in the Championship heading into Round 5.

Todd Waters battling with Tanti at Wodonga – Image RbMotoLens

Behind Waters, Go24 KTM’s Brett Metcalfe will look to capitalise on newfound confidence from a Moto win and overall podium at his home town race in Gillman.

Brett Metcalfe – Image RbMotoLens

Another compilation story from Gilman came with the HRC Factory Honda Racing rider of Dean Ferris, who quietly came into the round nursing the effects of a mid week practice crash. It was not the dominance we witnessed at Wodongabut a consistent day inside the top 5 that now leaves Ferris 23 points out of the Red Plate and undoubtedly looking to rebound and set the tone for the rest of the Championship at Maitland.

Dean Ferris at Wodonga – Image RbMotoLens

KTM Australia’s Kirk Gibbs also returned to form at Gilman with an overall podium, now sitting 5th in the Championship, Gibbs is another veteran who can factor into the podium battles at any time during the second half of the Championship.

Kirk Gibbs is still very much in the Title hunt – Image RbMotoLens

Thor MX1 ​​Points

Pos Rider Bike Total
1 Aaron TANTI Yamaha 164
2 Todd Waters Husqvarna 152
3 Brett METCALFE KTM 150
4 Dean FERRIS Honda 141
5 Kirk Gibbs KTM 130
6 Hayden MELLROSS GasGas 107
7 Jayden RYKERS Kawasaki 105
8 Joel EVANS Honda 95
9 Kyle Webster Honda 85
10 Joben BALDWIN Honda 78
11 JOEL WIGHTMAN Yamaha 75
12 Dylan WOOD KTM 53
13 Luke CLOUT Yamaha 50
14 Zachary WATSON Honda 44
15th Lochie LATIMER KTM 43
16 Matt MOSS KTM 37
17 Bryce OGNENIS KTM 25
18 Caleb WARD Honda 22
19 Levi MCMANUS Honda 21
20 Cody O’LOAN KTM 21
21 Oliver MARCHAND Honda 20
22 Kye ORCHARD kawasaki 19
23 Mitchell NORRIS GasGas 17
24 Zhane DUNLOP Yamaha 16
25 Liam JACKSON Kawasaki 15th
26 John DARROCH Yamaha 15th
27 Cory WATTS Honda 14
28 Siegah WARD Honda 13
29 Luke ZIELINSKI Yamaha 12
30 Jesse BISHOP KTM 9
32 Levi McMANUS Honda 5
33 Beau DARGEL KTM 3
34 Jack O’CALLAGHAN Honda 2
35 Riley Stephens Honda 2
36 Joel Cigliano Kawasaki 1

Pirelli MX2

In Pirelli MX2, HRC Honda Racing Australia’s Wilson Todd comes into the Round regaining full command of the Championship after a dominating performance at Gillman and now sits a whopping 61 points clear with the Red Plate.

Wilson Todd is setting a pace the rest of the competition has failed to match – Image RbMotoLens

Taking a perfect day with 1-1 Moto scores and edging out one of his closest rivals of Alex Larwood on the Yamalube Yamaha Racing Team at GilmanTodd has really set the tone that it is his Championship to control as we commence the second half of the season.

The only rider to beat Todd to a Moto win in 2022, Serco Yamaha’s Bailey Malkiewicz, is battling a knee injury from Gilman, it is time for someone to step up to the plate and challenge Todd’s dominance. Who will that be? Time will tell at Maitland this weekend.

Bailey Malkiewicz is the only rider to put one over Todd this season – Image RbMotoLens

Pirelli MX2 Points

Pos Rider Bike Total
1 Wilson TODD Honda 193
2 Alex LARWOOD Yamaha 132
3 Rhys BUDD Yamaha 131
4 Bailey MALKIEWICZ Yamaha 118
5 Ryder KINGSFORD Yamaha 117
6 Dylan Wills Husqvarna 109
7 Liam ANDREWS Honda 105
8 Jesse DOBSON Yamaha 104
9 Noah Ferguson GasGas 101
10 Haruki Yokoyama Kawasaki 97
11 Jai CONSTANTINOU Kawasaki 74
12 Isaac Ferguson GasGas 62
13 Blake FOX GasGas 58
14 Hugh McKAY Yamaha 55
15th Kaleb Barham Husqvarna 53
16 Jayce COSFORD Yamaha 49
17 Chandler BURNS Honda 47
18 Brodie CONNELLY Yamaha 45
19 Levi ROGERS Yamaha 37
20 Tye JONES Husqvarna 20
21 Mackenzie O’BREE Yamaha 11
22 Jacob SWEET Yamaha 11
24 Connor TIERNEY Honda 8
25 Braeden KREBS Yamaha 7
26 Korey MCMAHON GasGas 7
27 Dylan MARCHAND Honda 3
29 Jai Walker KTM 1
30 George KNIGHT Honda 1

Maxxis MX3

In Maxxis MX3, we have seen youthful exuberance and inconsistency shake up the Championship standings, with KTM Australia mounted youngster Kayden Minear closing the gap to just 1 point out from HRC Honda Racing Australia’s Cambell Williams.

Kayden Minear – Image RbMotoLens

It is safe to say that Maitland will be a battleground for momentum in the Maxxis MX3 field and all eyes will be on Minear Vs. Williams to see what the youngster’s can do to stake their claim on the Red Plate after leaving NSW on Sunday afternoon.

Cambell Williams – Image RbMotoLens

Maxxis MX3 Points

Pos Rider Bike Total
1 Cambell Williams Honda 161
2 Kayden MINEAR KTM 160
3 Jack MATHER Husqvarna 135
4 Byron DENNIS GasGas 125
5 Jet ALSOP KTM 116
7 Thynan KEAN Honda 108
8 Brock FLYNN Husqvarna 92
9 Connor TOWILL KTM 79
10 Myles GILMORE Yamaha 78
11 Ryley FITZPATRICK GasGas 68
12 Cooper HOLROYD Yamaha 55
13 Koby HANTIS Yamaha 50
14 Jake CANNON Yamaha 49
15th Connor ROSSANDICH KTM 43
16 Liam Owens Husqvarna 43
17 Kobe DREW Yamaha 41
18 Jyle CAMPBELL Yamaha 37
19 Hixson McINNES Honda 33
20 Seth BURCHELL Yamaha 33
21 Deegan MANCINELLI Honda 24
22 Cody KILPATRICK Kawasaki 22
23 Liam JACKSON Yamaha 19
24 Hunter Collins KTM 17
25 Deacon PAICE KTM 17
26 Jack McLEAN Yamaha 11
27 Angus PEARCE Yamaha 11
28 Thomas LAMBERT KTM 5
29 Ryan King KTM 5
30 Kobi WOLFF Husqvarna 5
31 Brodie PETSCHAUER Honda 4
32 Sonny PELLICANO Honda 2
33 Koby TATE Yamaha 2
35 Jordan MINEAR KTM 1
36 Zane MACKINTOSH Honda 1

Yamaha bLU cRU YZ65 Cup

In a further addition to the incredible line up of ProMX action, Maitland will also host the first of the Yamaha bLU cRU YZ65 Cup Rounds for the Championship.

Don’t miss out on any of the action and get your tickets for Round 5 of the 2022 Penrite ProMX Championship presented by AMX Superstores by clicking here.

2022 Penrite ProMX Championship
Presented by AMX Superstores

  • Round 1 – Wonthaggi VIC, 27th March
  • Round 2 – Mackay QLD, 10th April
  • Round 3 – Wodonga VIC, 1st May
  • Round 4 – Gillman SA, 29th May
  • Round 5 – Maitland NSW, 26th June
  • Round 6 – Coffs Harbor NSW, 24th July
  • Round 7 – QLD Moto Park, 14th August
  • Round 8 – Coolum QLD, 20-21st August

Leave a Comment